The National ANZAC Centre (NAC) is a new state-of-the-art interactive museum built into the side of Mount Adelaide as part of the Princess Royal Fortress Military precinct in Albany. The NAC overlooks King George Sound where the Australian and New Zealand troops departed for World War I back in 1914.
This unique museum was constructed within 10 months in order to achieve the high profile opening on 1 November 2014 coinciding with the centenary of the first Australian and New Zealand convoy’s departure to war. The AIC was officially opened by both Australian and New Zealand Prime Ministers and the Premier of Western Australia.
Seventy per cent of trades engaged to participate in the construction of NAC were from the Albany region, and their local knowledge proved to be very beneficial to overcome geographical and climatic hurdles.
A few key construction components of the 568m2 build include structural steel treated to endure the surrounding salt water and prevailing weather conditions, suspended structaflor flooring system, external nailstip feature cladding, Lumiflon painted external BGC fibre cement cladding, substantial curtain wall glazing, curved timber veneer wall linings, new effluent system and new fire system consisting of 2 x 91KL fire tanks.
The building consists of four main areas; Orientation, Interpretive Gallery, Viewing areas and Contemplation Space each with their own individual high quality features. These features range from supaslat timber panelling ceilings, anodised aluminium wall panelling to create a distinctive separation from the main gallery to the rooms of reflection and remembrance, digital graphics taken from original photographs collected over the decades were imposed on numerous finishes such as anodised aluminium panels, acrylic panels and dibond panels to provide more visual assistance to the many characters journeys expressed throughout the gallery.
The extensive multi-media package provided many interactive activities with the use of monitors displayed in an array of surrounds (glass cabinets, tables, water features, etc), projectors, fiducial readers and iPads were all used to encourage participation by patrons to follow the many characters’ stories.
The south east end of the building is opened up to the beautiful surrounds by a 6.28m high curtain wall set at a 12 degree outward incline inserted over structural steel outriggers. This presented a project within itself, as the planning, preparation, timing and co-ordination was extensive. The installation of the curtain wall involved the erection of stand-alone platform deck along the side of Mount Adelaide to allow the glazed wall to be craned onto and walked into position. This required perfect weather conditions to take place and was done so, successfully.
Many specialists formed part of the design and construction team to complete some of the museum finishes. These included showcases which were fabricated and assembled in the Eastern States and transported to Western Australia to house the many artefacts, lighting and media technicians to create the desired ambience, and artists and architects to put all the parts of the story of the ANZAC’s together.
Over and above the construction of the NAC building the following works also formed part of the project:
- New structural steel lookout cored into existing granite boulders, with trex transcend decking, apolic shelter, stainless steel handrails, in floor solar powered lighting, interpretive signage and binoculars.
- Convoy Walk consisting of resurfaced roads, landscaping, and footpaths and 21 interpretive markers illustrating the different fleets within the convoys.
- Forecourt landscaping works, mixture of both hard and soft landscaping techniques marrying in to other areas of Albany and using carefully selected materials and flora specific to the region.
Please contact us to find out more: (08) 9261 1700